Skip to content

Boatie Blest sign

March 22, 2010

 

Our Boatie Blest boatyard sign

 

Douglas has put up our new sign and now the boatyard can be easily found at Port Seton Harbour.

Many thanks to Stuart Horsburgh from Signmaster, Kelso.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2010 3:30 am

    If I had a greenback for each time I came to boatieblest.wordpress.com.. Incredible article!

  2. Derrick the Driver permalink
    August 29, 2010 11:31 am

    I have just come across your website while researching the story of my mothers uncle, Jim Hickie, of Weatherheads fame.

    I live in Galway in the west of Ireland, and can appreciate the trouble you have gone to to revive the history of boat building at Port Seton. Though I was born in Musselburgh, I left it at age 2 and have hardly been back once or twice.

    Through doing my research I have developed a desire to return and look more closely at the land of my birth, and its inhabitants.

    Best wishes

    Derrick Hambleton
    email – as above.

    • carmel daly permalink
      January 7, 2011 9:25 am

      Hi Derrik

      I too am an Irish ex pat, there are 4 irish folk involved in Boatie Blest. . You would be very welcome to row/visit/chat with us any time you are over this way. We are very community minded and open to all. I love the Galway Hooker races, my dad helped build bad mor Naomh Cronain.

      See you?
      Carmel

      • Alex Weatherhead permalink
        March 25, 2011 10:59 pm

        Derrik
        Gordon Hickey and his family have been living in London for a good few years and his telephone number is 0208 340 0557 – I am sure he would like to hear from you.
        If you do manage to get across to the Port Seton area please get in touch through the boatie blest grapevine.

        Rgards

        Alex Weatherhead

  3. Derrick the Driver permalink
    January 14, 2011 11:34 am

    Hi Carmel,

    Great to hear from you and to note that your father helped build a Galway Hooker. Mr friend Peter Connolly is making great efforts to re-establish the skills in the Claddagh, the home of traditional boatbuilding in Galway. So we may yet get something going here between Port Seton and the Claddagh.

    In the meantime, you may be able to put me in touch with Jim Hickies son, who I understand still lives in Musselburgh? He may have a spare copy of Jim Hickies memoir ‘All the worlds a stage’ which I would love to get a copy of as it contained the entire history of the Hickie family and Hickie Boats.
    Best wishes

    Derrick Hambleton

    contact details as above.

Leave a Reply

